Richard E. Rosenthal Student Competition


A prized feature of the MORS Education and Professional Development (EPD) Colloquium, the Richard E. Rosenthal Student Competition is a “quick reaction analysis” competition which allows students from all participating institutions to work on an OR problem together, demonstrate their skills and learn different ways to approach a problem toward a team solution. Students are randomly assigned to teams. Each team is provided a problem set and given five hours to apply operations research methodology to resolve the issues. On the last day of the Colloquium, teams present the results of their efforts to a judging panel in an open forum. The winning team receives a special recognition by the Society and each member of the winning team receives an award.

2022, Past Award Winners

  • Cadet Mathew Daugomah, The Citadel
  • Cadet Richardo Anthony Henriquez, The Citadel
  • Cadet Rafael Mas, VMI