Awards Banner

* MORS' website limitedly supports Internet Explorer and Firefox. For best results, use Chrome.

Recognize Excellence: Nominate a Deserving Peer

MORS prizes and awards call attention to excellence, to advances in the field and to individuals of distinction. Click on each individual award or prize to learn more information and to see the listing of previous winners.Contact MORS Awards’ Chair, Dr. David Azari, or email with any questions.

Distinguished Awards

Vance R. Wanner: The Wanner Award recognizes a national security operations research professional who has played a major role in strengthening the profession. Deadline: 1 March 2022

Clayton J. Thomas: The Thomas Award recognizes an individual who has, through his or her involvement in the field of national security operations research, exhibited sustained outstanding individual performance and contributions, shared knowledge and talents with others in the field, and provided technically sound options to national security decision-makers. Deadline: 1 March 2022

Notable Awards

Wayne P. Hughes, Jr.: The purpose of the Hughes Award is to recognize young analysts who are already making an impact on operations research. Deadline: 15 February 2022

MOR Journal: This award supports the belief of MORS and MAS that operations research represents people who apply scientific method to build quantitative models, manipulate data, evaluate results and who publish these results in a suitable form in the MOR journal, a refereed forum to the broad analytic community. Anyone who publishes in the MOR Journal in the previous calendar year is eligible to receive this award.

John K. Walker, Jr.: The purpose of this award is to recognize the author(s) of the technical article judged to be the best published in PHALANX, The Bulletin of Military Operations Research, during the previous calendar year. Anyone who publishes in the Phalanx in the previous calendar year is eligible to receive this award.

Awards & Prizes Fact Sheet