MOR Journal Award

2020 MOR Journal Award

Purpose of the Award:

  • Support the belief that operations research represents people who apply scientific method to build quantitative models, manipulate data, evaluate results and who publish these results in a suitable form in the MOR Journal, a refereed forum to the broad analytic community.
  • Promote communication among practitioners of military operations research that is timely, important, and interesting to the MOR Journal audience.
  • Identify and recognize members of the analytic profession who have expanded the application of military operations research techniques, deepened insight into a specific defense area, or improved the available set of analytical tools, while communicating the results of their work to the broader analytical community by publishing an article in the MOR Journal.

Criteria for Eligibility:

  • Individuals must have published a technical article in the Journal¬†during the previous calendar year whose content is judged to be timely, interesting and important to the Journal audience.
  • Each published article will be judged on the basis of its ability to communicate to the military operations research community the ideas of the author(s) clearly, concisely, and unambiguously.
  • Current Sponsors, the MOR Journal Editor, and members of the Publications Committee are not eligible for the MOR Journal Award.

Past Award Winners

2022 - Dr. Sei-Hoon Moon and Dr. Joshua H. Gordis

2021 - William J. Farrell, III and Dean Wilkening

2020 - Michael D. Moskal II, and Rajan Batta

2019 - Dr. Paul J. Nicholas and Dr. David L. Alderson

2018 - Dr. Elizabeth S. Mezzacappa; Dr. Gordon C. Cooke, III; Mr. Charles Sheridan; Mr. Robert M. DeMarco; Mr. Kevin E. Tevis; Dr. Kenneth R. Short; Mr. Gladstone V. Reid; Mr. Nasir E. Jaffery; and Mr. John B. Riedener

2017- Dr. Paul J. Nicholas

2016 - Mr. Arun Shankar and Mr. John Shortle

2015 - Prof. Dimitris J. Bertsimas, Natasha Marakuzo and Kimberly Shenk

2014 - Victor Richmond R. Jose and Jun Zhuang

2013 - Dr. Christopher Paul, Colin P. Clarke, and Beth Grill

2012 - Dr. Howard D. McInvale, Dr. Mark P. McDonald, and Dr. Sankaran Mahadevan

2011 - Dr. Robert E. Burks, Dr. James T. Moore, Dr. J. Wesley Barnes and Dr. John E. Bell

2010 - Dr. Mark Abdollahian, Brice Nicholson, Dr. Michael Baranick, and Matthew Nickens

2009 - Moshe Kress and Johannes Royset

2008 - Lt Nathan Yerrick, Dr. Mesut Yavuz and Dr. David Jeffcoat

2007 - Dr Patrick J. Driscoll and MAJ Steven J. Henderson

2006 - Donald Buckshaw, Dr. Gregory Parnell, FS, Willard Unkenholz, Donald Parks, James Wallner & O. Sami Saydjari

2005 - Seethal Mishra, Rajan Batta and Robert J. Szczerba

2004 - David P. Kierstead and Donald R. Del Balzo

2003 - Elisabeth Pate-Cornell and Seth Guikema

2002 - Norman D. Curet, Alan R. Washburn and Ryusuke Hohzaki

2001 - Kirk A. Yost and Alan R. Washburn