Clayton J. Thomas Award


About the MORS Clayton J. Thomas Award

The Clayton J. Thomas Award recognizes outstanding individuals for their contributions to the analytical foundations of the operations research profession. Recipients are recognized as exceptional individuals who have consistently pursued sharing knowledge and talents with others in the field, delivering technically sound evidence to national security decision makers, and providing sustained technical achievements and contributions that have improved the analytical underpinnings and tools of the military operations research profession. Calls for nomination are released each spring.

Submission Requirements and Process

Criteria: Nominees for the Thomas Award should exhibit the following: 

  1. Distinguished service over time to the profession of military and national security operations research. 
  2. Enhancement of the image and substance of military and national security operations research as a unique scientific discipline, and as a means for providing technically sound alternatives to defense decision makers. 
  3. Sustained, outstanding performance as a practitioner in military and national security operations research, resulting in important improvements to our tools and to the application of our analytical capabilities. 
  4. Extension of individual knowledge and talents to others in the profession of military and national security operations research leading to improvement of our analytic capabilities. 

NOTE: Current MORS Sponsors and MORS Board Members are not eligible for this award. 

Contact with any questions.

Past Award Winners

2022 - Dr. Dean S. Hartley, III

2021 - Ms. Pamela I. Blechinger

2020 - Dr. Janet A. McLeavey

2019 - Brig Gen Andrew P. Armacost, USAF

2018 - Mr. Harrison Schramm

2017 - Mr. Dennis R. Baer

2016 - Dr. Timothy Hope

2015 - Dr. Harry J. Thie, FS

2014 - Mr. Kirk A. Michealson, FS

2013 - Dr. Mark A. Gallagher

2012 - Dr. William Forrest Crain

2011 - Dr. Robert S. Sheldon, FS

2010 - Dr. Gerald G. Brown

2009 - Mr. Richard F. Deckro

2008 - Mr. Richard E. Rosenthal

2007 - Mr. Jerome J. Bracken

2006 - Mr. Stephen J. Balut

2005 - Alan R. Washburn

2004 - Mr. Stuart H. Starr, FS

2003 - Mr. Joseph J. Bolmarcich

2002 - Mr. Gregory S. Parnell, FS

2001 - Mr. Edward P. Kerlin

2000 - Mr. Alfred G. Brandstein

1999 - Mr. Robert L. Helmbold