Wayne P. Hughes Award


About the MORS Wayne P. Hughes Award

In 2007, MORS established the Junior Analyst Award to recognize young analysts who are already making an impact on Operations Research. The award now bears the name of Wayne P. Hughes, FS, former Dean of the Graduate School of Operational and Information Sciences at the Naval Postgraduate School

A candidate for an award may be nominated by a mentor, boss or colleague. The submitter should give relevant information on no more than two pages, including the candidate’s date of birth, education, work experience, and reasons for the nomination in relation to the selection criteria.

Selection Criteria:

  • Nominees should be forty-years old or less as of 1 June the year of nomination and have been doing operations research for less than 10 years.
  • Distinguished self by one or more of the following accomplishments:
    • Outstanding publication(s) highlighting their analyses
    • Development of significant new analysis
    • The use of research results in the solution off military problems

Contact recognition@mors.org with any questions.

Past Award Winners

2022 - MAJ Christine C.Krueger

2021 - Major Sean A. Clement

2020 - Dr. Stephen M. Henry

2019 - Maj Andrew D. Atkinson, USAF

2018 - MAJ Neil E. Kester, USA

2017- Capt Benjamin R. Mayo, USAF

2016 - Mr. Abram A. Gross

2015 - MAJ Kristin C. Saling, USA

2014 - MAJ Nathaniel D. Bastian, USA

2013 - MAJ Matthew Dabkowski, USA

2012 - LTC Joseph M. Lindquist, PhD, USA

2011 - MAJ Francisco R. Baez, USA

2010 - Captain Elwood T. Waddell, Jr.