AUSA Conference and Event Center
2425 Wilson Blvd.
Arlington, VA 22201

Overview

Terms of Reference (TOR) document as of 13 September. 

A three-day workshop, “Cost in National and Homeland Security Decisions” is intended to bring together Analysts supporting the Requirements Generation, Acquisition, and Resource Allocation processes. The Service Chiefs rely on these processes to ensure a defensible budget that aligns resources to requirements to meet current and future threats under a constrained topline.

The Workshop will offer participants the ability to understand the latest policy and guidance pertaining to cost analysis; learn state-of-the-art tools and techniques; hear from influential members of the Requirements Generation, Acquisition, and Resource Allocation Communities; and share valuable lessons learned during the performance of cost-related activities. Most importantly, the event will enable Analysts to better understand the cost-related needs of the three communities at-large and to identify opportunities to fill those needs.

The Workshop will feature a series of speakers, panel discussions, and presentation tracks, with discussion at the unclassified level. Representation across the Military Services, organizations within the Office of the Secretary of Defense, and major defense contractors will facilitate robust, thought-provoking discussion. Anyone is welcome to participate, and you do not need to be a practicing cost analyst to attend.

Confirmed Speakers

Dr. Yisroel Brumer

Day 1 Speaker:
Dr. Yisroel Brumer

Principal Deputy Director, Cost Assessment and Program Evaluation (CAPE), Office of the Secretary of Defense.
Link to bio.

Lieutenant General John M. Jansen

Day 2 Speaker:
Lieutenant General John M. Jansen, USMC

Deputy Commandant for Programs and Resources, Headquarters Marine Corps.
Link to bio.

Agenda Topics

Potential Workshop Topics:
  • New Approaches to Resource Requirements Generation
  • A Process for Cost Decision Analysis
  • Managing Analytic-Based Decision Making
  • Contractor Cost Reporting
  • Cost, Schedule, and Phasing Estimating Relationships
  • Best Practices in Cost and Schedule Estimating
  • Affordability and Its Impact to Readiness
  • Current and Alternate Software Estimating Techniques


Interested in Presenting?

We are currently seeking cost-related abstracts on policy and guidance, products and processes, and tools and techniques with respect to requirements generation, acquisition, and resource allocation. Presentations should appeal to a wide audience and should be at the unclassified level. Presenters will be allocated 45 minutes including dedicated time for questions and answers.

If you are interested in presenting at the Workshop, please submit an abstract to the Chair of the corresponding track (identified below) with a cc to the Track Coordinator, Dr. Scott Willette, swillette@innovativedecisions.com. Abstracts are limited to 500 words.

Requirements Generation:
Ms. Christine Anderson, canderson@technomics.net

Acquisition:
Mr. Richard Shea, richard.shea@jlha.com

Resource Allocation:
Maj Courtney Jones, USMC, courtney.jones1@usmc.mil



Payment Options

The "Invoice Me" option can only be used for the registration fee.  This option won't appear if you have social tickets, CEU courses or tutorials in your cart.  If you need assistance registering please contact Ms. Tina Yan, tina.yan@mors.org.

Who can attend (Clearance Requirements):
This meeting is open to U.S. citizens and FVEY Partners (Australia, Canada, New Zealand, UK). Non U.S. citizens of U.S. allies may attend at the discretion of MORS. Non U.S. attendees will be notified if their registration to attend is not accepted.

U.S. Federal Govt.  
MORS Sponsor

Member

$450

U.S. Federal Govt. 
MORS Sponsor 

Non-Member 

$550  

U.S. Federal Govt.

Member

$500

U.S. Federal Govt.

Non-Member

$600

IDA Employees Only*   

Member

$523

IDA Employees Only*

Non-Member

$618

All Others

Member

$550

All Others

Non-Member

$650

Lodging

MORS has not contracted a room block for this event. The following hotels are located in close proximity to the Association of the U.S. Army (AUSA):
 

Contacts

Workshop Chairs:
Ms. Randi VanNyhuis, Randi.vannyhuis@gmail.com
Ms. Emily Foglia, efoglia@technomics.net
Mr. John Moskowitz, john.moskowitz@navy.mil

Event:
Mr. Ron Sallerson, ron.sallerson@mors.org or (703) 933-9078

Registration: 
Ms. Tina Yan, tina.yan@mors.org or (703) 933-9076

Disclosure Forms

Please use the below MORS Disclosure Forms

- Government Disclosure Form

- Non-Government Disclosure Form