MORS Awards and Prizes

Recognize Excellence: Nominate a Deserving Peer

MORS prizes and awards call attention to excellence, to advances in the field and to individuals of distinction. Click on each individual award or prize to learn more information and to see the listing of previous winners.Contact 
MORS Awards’ Chair, Ms. Kristi Bane,, (937) 713-7177 or email with any questions.

Distinguished Awards

Vance R. Wanner: The Wanner Award recognizes a national security operations research professional who has played a major role in strengthening the profession. Deadline: 14 February 2020

Clayton J. Thomas: The Thomas Award recognizes an individual who has, through his or her involvement in the field of national security operations research, exhibited sustained outstanding individual performance and contributions, shared knowledge and talents with others in the field, and provided technically sound options to national security decision makers. Deadline: 3 April 2020


Notable Awards

Wayne P. Hughes, Jr.: The purpose of the Hughes Award is to recognize young analysts who are already making an impact on operations research. Deadline: 14 February 2020

MOR Journal: This award supports the belief of MORS and MAS that operations research represents people who apply scientific method to build quantitative models, manipulate data, evaluate results and who publish these results in a suitable form in the MOR journal, a refereed forum to the broad analytic community. Anyone who publishes in the MOR Journal in the previous calendar year is eligible to receive this award.

John K. Walker, Jr. : The purpose of this award is to recognize the author(s) of the technical article judged to be the best published in PHALANX, The Bulletin of Military Operations Research, during the previous calendar year. Anyone who publishes in the Phalanx in the previous calendar year is eligible to receive this award.



Richard H. Barchi Prize: The Barchi Prize recognizes the best paper given at the previous MORS Symposium (MORSS). Eligible participants are notified in December. Deadline: 28 February 2020

David Rist Prize: The Rist Prize recognizes the practical benefit sound operations research can have on “real life” decision making and seeks the best implemented military operations research study from those submitted in response to a call for entries. Deadline: 1 December 2019

Eugene P. Visco Prize: This prize will provide one to two Analysts the opportunity to present at the ISMOR, held in the United Kingdom every summer.  Each selected presenter will be provided admission to the ISMOR and travel expenses. The goal is for one of the selected presenters to include a MORS Junior Analyst.  The exact number of Analysts supported will depend on the success of our fundraising efforts.  More information on how to compete for the Visco Prize will be provided in the Call for Submissions for the 2019 Emerging Techniques Forum.

Student Awards

Dr. James T. Moore Graduate Research Prize: MORS presents a Graduate Research Prize to an OR student in the graduating class at the Air Force Institute of Technology (AFIT). The Operational Sciences faculty at AFIT establishes the specific standards for the Prize and selects the winner for each class.

The Tisdale Graduate Research Prize: MORS presents a Graduate Research Prize to an OR student in the graduating class at the Naval Postgraduate School (NPS). The OR faculty at NPS establish the specific standards for the Prize and select the winner for each class.


Student Competition

Richard E. Rosenthal Student Competition: A prized feature of the MORS Education and Professional Development (EPD) Colloquium, the Richard E. Rosenthal Student Competition is a “quick reaction analysis” competition which allows students from all participating institutions to work on an OR problem together, demonstrate their skills and learn different ways to approach a problem toward a team solution.