Richard E. Rosenthal Student Competition

An prized feature of the MORS Education and Professional Development (EPD) Colloquium, the Richard E. Rosenthal Student Competition is a “quick reaction analysis” competition which allows students from all participating institutions to work on an OR problem together, demonstrate their skills and learn different ways to approach a problem toward a team solution. Students are randomly assigned to teams. Each team is provided a problem set and given five hours to apply operations research methodology to resolve the issues. On the last day of the Colloquium, teams present the results of their efforts to a judging panel in an open forum. The winning team receives a special recognition by the Society and each member of the winning team receives an award.

2017 Winning Team

Tyson Stickler - USNA

Alastair Young - VMI

Matthew Heinrich - VMI

Andrew Matos – West Point

Matthew Rodriguez – West Point

Samuel Patrick Norris - VMI

Julia Bailey - USNA

Caroline Baylosis - USNA

Alison Kiernan - USNA

Justin Moore – VMI