Home  > Recognize Excellence  > Hughes Award

Wayne P. Hughes Junior Analyst Award

In 2007, MORS established the Junior Analyst Award to recognize young analysts who are already making an impact on Operations Research. The award now bears the name of Wayne P. Hughes, FS, former Dean of the Graduate School of Operational and Information Sciences at the Naval Postgraduate School

A candidate for an award may be nominated by a mentor, boss or colleague.  The submittor should give relevant information on no more than two pages, including the candidate’s date of birth, education, work experience, and reasons for the nomination in relation to the selection criteria.

Selection criteria:

  • Nominees should be forty-years old or less as of 1 June the year of nomination and have been doing operations research for less than 10 years.
  • Distinguished self by one or more of the following accomplishments:
    • Outstanding publication(s) highlighting their analyses
    • Development of significant new analysis
    • The use of research results in the solution off military problems

Nominate a deserving young analyst today.
Click here to download the nomination form.


2013 - Major Matthew Dabkowski

Major Matthew Dabkowski has proven to be an outstanding young researcher and problem solver for the United States Army and the Department Defense with his significant contributions in a myriad of environments including while deployed in Afghanistan. He has published articles, developed new analytic procedures and worked on significant problems to include the Army Force Design/Force Mix study, the Boots on Ground Dwell study for Army Soldiers, and a new assessment methodology for the International Security Assistance Force in Afghanistan. Major Dabkowski’s solutions have had a profound effect on Army force structure and personnel management policies and will continue to do so for years to come. 

2012 - LTC Joseph M. Lindquist, PhD
LTC Joseph M. Lindquist is awarded the Wayne P. Hughes Junior Analyst Award for exceptional service and ground-breaking analysis in support of Joint Special Operations Task Force – Philippines.  LTC Lindquist developed the first-ever assessment framework for a theater-level campaign in a Foreign Internal Defense mission, instantiated operational and social data to support the assessment, and delivered the assessment to the Theater Commander.  The assessment and supporting material was immediately accepted by the Commander, as well as the international and inter-agency partners, and led to operational-level changes.  Further, this work has now been extended to support other special operations and civil affairs commands in Afghanistan and the Horn of Africa.  

2011 - MAJ Francisco R. Baez
Major Francisco Baez’s outstanding leadership, research, and analysis skills has produced numerous and significant contributions to Department of Defense Analysis. Major Baez has distinguished himself through superior leadership, outstanding professional competence, and exceptionally praiseworthy service in positions of immense responsibility. MAJ Baez was instrumental in the Cultural Geography simulation development, the Logistics Battle Command model development and deployment, and the Soldier Domain Technologies experimentation. His efforts made a significant impact the evolution of warfighting doctrine for the current and future force. His work in developing, executing, and analyzing alternative courses of action for current operations in Afghanistan was particularly noteworthy. Francisco’s superb efforts resulted in significantly improving the modeling and simulation of the irregular warfare environment for the analysis community and providing senior leaders in theater the information they require.

2010 - Captain Elwood T. Waddell, Jr.

2009 - Capt Ryan Harrell, USAF, Air Education and Training Command Studies and Analysis Squadron

2008 – Maj Paul Evangelista

Join the Mailing List