Home  > Recognize Excellence  > Moore Graduate Education Prize

Dr. James T. Moore Graduate Research Prize

MORS presents a Graduate Research Prize to an OR student in the graduating class at the Air Force Institute of Technology (AFIT). The prize consists of a $200 honorarium and a certificate. The Operational Sciences faculty at AFIT establishes the specific standards for the Prize and selects the winner for each class.

The Military Operations Research Society Dr. James T. Moore Graduate Research Prize in honor of Dr. James T. Moore (April 1952 – November 2011), for his 24 years of service to the Nation in uniform and more than two decades at AFIT teaching Operations Research and mentoring more than a generation of military operations research analysts. The primary criterion for the award is research that leads to demonstration of, or potential for, increased operating effectiveness of currently available or near term assets (as opposed to refinement of quantitative techniques or future system requirement definition and acquisition support).  Research in areas other than those applied to current or near term forces may be considered for the award if the results are clearly of far-ranging impact on the mission(s) of the service(s) concerned.
Prize Winners
  • 2014 Captain Christopher Jones
  • 2013 Capt Dana F. Morrill
  • June 2012: Major Brady J. Vaira, USAF
  • March 2012: MAJ Cade Saie, USA
  • June 2011: Mr. Fairul Mohd-Zaid, USAF 
  • March 2011: 1st Lt Thomas Talafuse, USAF
  • June 2010: Maj Philip Morrison, USAF
  • March 2010: Capt Greg S. Jeong, USAF
  • June 2009: Major Andrew J. Lipina USAF
  • March 2009: Maj Larry Nance, USAF
  • June 2008:  Maj James P. Nichol, USAF
  • March 2008:  Capt Ryan Kappedal, USAF
  • March 2007: Capt Jennifer L. Geffre, USAF
  • June 2006: Major Ralph J. Waite, USAF
  • June 2005: Major Jeanette M. Voigt, USAF
  • March 2005:  1st Lt Earl M. Bednar, USAF
  • September 2004:  Maj Rudolph (Reb) E. Butler III, USAF
  • March 2004:  Capt Nathan J. Leap, USAF
  • March 2003: Capt Donald L. Hoffman, USAF
  • March 2002: Capt Ian A. Young, USAF  
  • March 2001: 1st  Lt Erhan Baltacioglu, Turkish Air Force
  • March 2000: Capt Roger D. Gallan, Jr., USAF
  • March 1999: Capt Kevin P. O’Rourke, USAF
  • March 1998: Capt Michael P. Doyle, USAF
  • March 1997: Maj Daniel V. Hackman, USAF
  • March 1996: Capt Wayne L. Zorn, USAF
  • March 1995: Capt Stanley Stafira, Jr., USAF
  • March 1994: Capt Craig J. Willits, USAF
  • March 1993: None
  • March 1992: None
  • March 1991: Maj Russell L. Towe, USAF
  • March 1990: Capt William B. Carter, USAF
  • March 1989: Maj David L. Merrill, USAF
  • December 1988: Capt T. Glenn Bailey, USAF
  • March 1988: CPT William J. A. Miller, USA
  • December 1987: Capt Eugene H. Henry, USAF
  • March 1987: Capt Daniel Briand, USAF
  • December 1986: Capt Lee J. Lehmkuhl, USAF
  • March 1986: Maj Joseph P. Dorczuk, USAF
  • December 1985: Capt Dennis C. Dietz, USAF
  • March 1985: Maj Steven J. Sharkey, USAF and Maj Michael T. Savage, USAF (joint thesis)
  • December 1984: Capt Thomas W. Manacapilli, USAF
  • March 1984: Capt Robert E. Bunnell, USAF and Capt Richard A. Takacs, USAF
  • December 1983: Capt Gary W. Arnett, USAF and Capt Nicholas W. Reybrock, USAF (joint thesis)
  • March 1983: Mr Garry C. Porter
  • December 1982: Capt Michael C. Wambsganss, USAF
  • March 1982: Capt Richard J. Baker, USAF and Maj James E. Carter, USAF
  • December 1981: 2Lt Wayne A. Stimpson, USAF
  • March 1981: Capt Robert H. Whitney, USAF and Maj Jack L. Wilson, USAF (joint thesis)
  • December 1980: Capt William H. Hughes, Jr., USAF
  • March 1980: Capt Jeffrey R. Sackett, USAF
  • December 1979: Capt Louis M. Gusmus, USAF and Capt Barton A. Boggs, USAF (joint thesis)
  • March 1979: Maj Robert J. Wasilewski, USAF
  • December 1978: CPT James A. Moreno, USA and Capt Bradley W. Utz, USAF (joint thesis)

Join the Mailing List